Profile Information

Previous Fields

• Real Name
    Jerene
  • Country
    United States

Recent Profile Visitors

1,174 profile views
  1. Sending (((((hugs))))) and prayers. Even though we know our loved ones are no longer in pain and suffering, being left behind is hard.
  2. ajere

Fibromyalgia

Deb, Thanks for the welcome. I don't know how much my perspective will help anyone, since this is all I have ever known. I will answer questions to the best of my ability, and from my own perspective. I am by no means an expert, and with this curse, what works for one, doesn't work for another. That seems to be the only constant with fibro, that is different for everyone. I know from experience that drastic weather changes are going to make me hurt, a lot. The other times I go into a flare can sometimes be predicted. If I push myself to the point of exhaustion, I am going to pay for that. If I over use muscles, it will take days to recover. Sometimes I can tell I am going to flare, other times I am blindsided. And sometimes I ignore the signs, because I'm stubborn like that. Hot baths with at least a cup of Epsom salts help some. Massage and massage with hot rocks are wonderful. I love me some Tiger Balm, but all the rub on stuff helps. I have had my kids, and now my grandkids pound on my upper back, it seems to interrupt the signals from the nerves, at least for a while. The biggest piece of advice I can give is to keep moving. Even though you hurt, even though you feel you are going to fall over, keep moving. You don't have to move constantly, and sometimes the effort of putting one foot in front of the other seems impossible. But walk at least a little bit. You can rest as often as you need to, but don't just stay in bed all day. The more you lay around, the less you will be able to do. I'm not suggesting a marathon every day but move, at least a little, every single day. I can't say enough good things about warm water exercise. You are supported by the water, your