Profile Information

Previous Fields

• Dollhouse Building Experience
    One
  • Real Name
    Linda
  • Country
    United States
  1. I am just beginning construction of the Rosedale. I completed the staircase sub assembly, but when I try to go on to the next step of attaching it to the first floor, the tabs don't line up. If I put the tab into the side wall the tabs in the floor don't line up. It seems like the staircase is too wide for the allotted space, but I think I did exactly what the instructions said. It's like the tab is too short or the slots in the floor are not far enough from the stair construct. I feel like the tab into the side wall that basically supports the floor is the most important element. I could widen the slots in the floor so that it would fit, but I'm scared to do that for fear it will throw everything else off. I thought I had it at one point and went ahead and got the second floor on (very tricky and I can't take it off) but then the staircase came off the first floor. I'm frustrated and unsure how to proceed. Can anyone offer suggestions?
  2. Can anyone recommend material to use on the exterior walls of a dollhouse. I want to do a stone look but I'm not sure if I should use wallpaper, individual stones, what? I am having trouble finding a paper product that is textured and I don't like the look of just flat paper. Any suggestions?
  3. Hi Mary Ellen. I'm new to this group too and have already learned a lot and had questions answered. I'm a retired great grandma and I've wanted a dollhouse since I was a little girl. My husband (sweet, foolish man that he is) suggested I go ahead and do it. I've been at it since October and if the electrical ordeal doesn't do me in I think I will finish the basics in another month or two. I think this hobby may addictive but I'm not sure where I would put a second house. Probably says a lot that I'm trying to find room already.