• Dollhouse Preference I like them both
  • Online Community Building Projects Yes
  • Digital Camera Yes
  • Real Name Karen
  • Country United States

Recent Profile Visitors

842 profile views
  1. Overall progress shot 2

I love watching the progress of your house.  I am definitely living vicariously through you.  It is amazing!
  2. Dollhouse Cellars?

I love the idea of the cellar doors.  What a great, simple way to add character to the outside of a house.
  3. Using Velcro

I've used velcro for battery-powered chandeliers.  I did have some trouble with the velcro's sticky back not sticking after awhile, but that may have been the product of cheap velcro and a kitten sneaking into the house and batting at them.
  4. ROMANHOUSE(1).JPG

This is a cool idea.  One of the partially restored villas in Pompeii would be a great subject.
  5. Hello - a complete newbie!

Welcome!  The Arthur is the first dollhouse Santa gave me to build when I was child.  It was the beginning of my love of building dollhouses.  
  6. Houses and rooms of the ancient world

I'm not sure if this link would be of interest to you.  It is to the Nationality Rooms at the University of Pittsburgh (my alma mater).  There are a wide variety of cultures, styles, and time periods  represented.  I have used them for inspiration.   http://www.nationalityrooms.pitt.edu/
  7. You can measure and cut wallpaper, etc. before you glue the house (but wait to install until glued) because measuring can be tricky once the house is together.  It also makes it easier to cut out windows.  Leave the paper a little longer on the side walls where you are going to attach them to the back wall.  That way you won't have seams visible in the corners.  If you do wait to measure and cut wallpaper until after you have glued, cut a template first with scratch paper so that if you make any mistakes measuring or cutting, you have not wasted a piece of wallpaper.
  8. Your dream house