Hello from Wisconsin

lanabelle

Hi! I am a total newbie from Madison, WI...I've never had a dollhouse before, though I've wanted one since I was a child. I've been looking at kits and houses now for a few months off and on and finally my desire has come to a rolling boil and I'm jumping in.

I really wanted to do a kit to get it just like I want it but I doubt my abilities, so I've been toying with the idea of having one built. I've even talked to someone about building a Glencroft for me and it sounds as if that one is a challenge anyhow, but the English cottage look is my top lustee and I want it to have a stone exterior, the "how to" of which completely baffles me. I have a Sweetheart kit at home and I think that may be a good one to start with. If I find I can handle it I'd like the Woodstock kit from Real Good Toys (can you see I have big ideas already?)....

BUT...

I WON a built house on Ebay last night and I'm so excited about it!!!! MY VERY FIRST DOLLHOUSE AT THE AGE OF 50!!!

Since I'm such a newbie, I have no idea what will need to be done when it arrives or how to go about fixing it up and making it pretty but I guess I'll be learning. Its a Dura Craft San Franciscan and I'd love to hear any comments, pros, cons, ideas?????

Welcome to the neighborhood! Congratulations on your fist house. I built a house for a customer of mine last year. It was for her 80 year old Mom who always wanted one a little child so there is NO age limit on having fun and owning a house :banana:

Since your house is already built, sounds like all you have to do is decorate which is quite fun. The Glencroft is a house I am in the process of building right now (Half done on my table :lol: ) I have been using my own blog to figure out things. Seems like I got stuck in the same place twice so I am so happy we have the blogs here to help. If you do decide to build a house later, we will help you through it. They look more intimidating than they really are.