Newbie Hubby from Southern NY

rydinearth

Okay, I'm not very good at this kind of stuff, but if I don't post something pretty soon, I think my wife is going to divorce me, so here goes.

I joined the boards about a week ago, along with my wife (Cricket). (See her introductory post for details on us and how we got involved in all this.) We've decided to tackle renovating 2 dollhouses (a Rutherford and Pierce) as a husband wife team. Sounds like a fun project. Since I'm more of a techie type, I've been placed in charge of structural repair and wiring, and she's handling all the tough stuff, like picking out what kind of porcelain tub to put in the bathroom, and what color the chair rails should be etc. :p

Given the rather sudden and meteoric revival of her interest in this hobby, I must admit with some chagrin that I haven't yet reached my wife's level of enthusiasm, although I'm sure I'll get there eventually. After all, her passion for this is so intense, I could hardly help but get drawn in. We've been on the boards for about a week and, while this is my very first post, my wife has already reached Gold Member status, she's only getting about 3 hours of sleep a night, and she's put about 800 miles on the car driving back and forth from our rural home to the local hobby shops, where she has personally inventoried and scrutinized every single miniature on their shelves at least 3 times, not to mention revamping our budget to allow for purchases. When she's not on the boards, she's talking about them. There is no subject known to man which she can't segue into dollhouses in about ten seconds. She's up till the wee hours, fretting over where to place the living room furniture or what color to paint the wainscoting. She's constantly bombarding me with requests for ideas, or dragging me off the couch or away from my desk to show me another one of her own.