New Garfield for my wife

MrJeeper55

Hi, I just registered with this forum after buying The Garfield for my wife for Christmas. She really loves it... now I have to build it for her...This is my first attempt at dollhouse construction. I'm in the process of glueing up the foundation now. I can see that I'll be on this site alot since this is all new to me...

I was looking at some of the pictures up on the website, and noticed the varnished floors on a few of the Garfield dollhouses. I'm wondering how that was done, especially since they look like actual floor planking. I'd appreciate advice on that. I'm thinking that the floor finishing has to be done once the main floor is put down prior to the walls or 2nd floor.

Also, can anyone give me some websites that I can check out for electrification kits? My wife would like to have her house electrified....

I'll be watching this site daily for advice and info....

Thanks,

MrJeeper55 :D

Welcome to our community and to the wonderful world of dollhouses!

A lot of us shop at HBS they have electrical & flooring items plus furniture and even upgraded windows for the Garfield.

A lot of people here stain the floors before they assemble the house by using regular stain & varnish. I like to use greenleaf siding strips and I apply each strip sand, stain then sand it again to give it the effect of real planks.

Hope this is enough info to get you started and again, welcome!! What a fortunate wife you have and what a wonderful husband she has to buy & build this dream house for her. You both will have wondeful memories to cherish!

Tracy

Welcome nuwbby Garfield person

You will love the garfield To stain my floors I just used a good quality stain that hubby had in the wood shop here at home as for the wood floors I used (you would never guess) popcicle sticks and did a inlaid floor .As for your Lighting go to web type in miniatures or dollhouses and have fun

Donna :D