Using fabric for walls instead of wallpaper

I have decided to make my Willow a partriotic house, all red, white and blue. I need to use small print fabric because paper is not available for this theme other than stars. I've never done this before so need to know should you cover the windows and door openings and cut them out after the glue dries or cut them out before gluing? If this works it will look great. The outside is barn red and so far the kitchen floor is a barn red print. The rooms will be mostly off white with the red and blue accents. The fabric I got is a very small blue print. The windows are the twelve light from Houseworks painted white and the curtains will be red and white and navy and white check depending on the room. JoAnn's fabric has a really good sale this week. Scrapbook paper, usually 50 cents a sheet is six for .96. The fabric is on sale also so thought I'd try it on the walls for a change. If this comes out nice I'll probably use it a lot because I'm running out of ideas for paper. I've used my favorites in almost every house.

If you are putting the fabric on posterboard first go ahead and cut the windows and door before hand. ( After you check your measurements. ) If you are putting it straight on the wall I would cut them after because the material may stretch. What glue are you using? I have had really good luck with spray adhesives.