New member in California

kdrake

Just a note to say hello! I'm located in Northern California. I'm new to miniatures and am starting my first actual build today, the Shady Brook cabin. I'm excited and it's going well so far, though I did have to come to the forum to find out which side of the pieces is supposed to be on the outside of the cabin! I didn't find it out about the Shady Brook but found an older discussion about that other slightly larger cabin which seems to have the same wood, so I came to the conclusion that the smoother, darker side is supposed to be the outside. Anyway that's what I'm going with!

I have done a couple of small projects recently: a garden room in a birdcage, and a library roombox.

Then yesterday, the same day that my Shady Brook arrived in the mail, I picked up a craigslist house. I hadn't planned AT ALL to have two things at the same time! But the photo called my name and at $50 I thought it was too good an opportunity to pass up. I will get a picture and post it soon. The woman said that it was built in the 80s by her father-in-law from a kit and shipped from England. It is really quite large so I can only imagine how much it must have cost to ship it. It's probably from an English kit and I haven't found it online, but it looks a little similar to the Montpelier by Real Good Toys, sort of Colonial. It needs a lot of work as it is really only the shell with no windows or doors installed, and the roof is in bad shape. Structurally it is very sound though and I think has a lot of potential.

I look forward to learning a lot from all of you experienced miniaturists!

-Katie

Hi Katie, welcome, welcome, welcome!! :)

We'd all love to see pics of your garden in a birdcage, your library roombox, the craigslist house - and of course, the Shady Brook as you work on the build. You only need to make 5 posts, and then you can open your own member's album.