Miniature Bobbin Lace Pillow

Liggysasha

My mom is an avid bobbin lacemaker, so for a present I've made her a miniature bobbin lace pillow (she is also a miniaturist). It's the first project I've made from scratch with my instructions or tutorial to follow. It's not perfect, but I'm pretty pleased with it!!

gallery_3397_2652_310988.jpg

There's another close up picture in my Gallery under 'Mini Creations'.

Here's a website - Beginners Guide to Lacemaking - with pictures of full-size lace pillows (and info on doing lace if you're interested!).

My mom is now saying that I should make the pillows to sell them. When we were at Ron's Miniatures store in Orlando they had a couple of pillows there (not as much detail as mine I think) but they were $140!!! I wouldn't charge anywhere near that much - but I just can't see that there is much of a market for them right now. And I'm not really sure that my workmanship is good enough to sell yet - after all I am a novice still.

I did bobbin lace for a year or two. Then I moved and lost the lace group. Might have to investigate again! Was good fun and felt proud when i'd finished something. Still have the lace :p Don't think i could remember how to do the various stitches though, it was probably in about 10 years ago!

Your scene looks lovely and brings back good memories.

I used the tops of fancy cocktail sticks for the bobbins. And then microbeads for the beads on the spangles (the loops of beads that hang from the bobbins). I... errr... 'liberated' the cocktail sticks (10 of them!) from a restaurant, so I need to find somewhere I can buy them instead, so I can make more.

Sasha, it's beautifully detailed work! That's the kind of thing that collectors just go crazy for. When you feel you're ready to start selling, consider either Etsy or CDHM. Those are two places where serious collectors of artisan minatures hang out.

Deb