Dandew1

Hello everyone,

I am a new member and I would appreciate any help not only with putting together a Beacon Hill dollhouse but with getting around on this site as I am new to blogs. Thank you, Dan

Hello Dan & welcome to the forum!

Is the Beacon Hill your first dollhouse build? It is truly a beauty. If you click on the Gallery link near the top of the forum screen you will find all sorts of beautiful examples of the Beacon Hill (you can also run a search in the gallery for pictures).

I've not built the Beacon Hill but I have built other tab/slot houses & I can give you a few general pointers if this is your first build (if it's not your first build then these pointers are probably not new tips).

1. Do not use a glue gun to construct your house, no matter what the instructions might say. This type of glue will usually not withstand the test of time or the *love* a granddaughter might show it :yes: There are several glues that would work well to build your kit, just not the glue gun. Many members here use wood glue and many use tacky glue - I myself like the tacky glue.

2. Read the instructions over a few times before starting your build - to familiarize yourself with the steps.

3. Do a *dry-fit* of the house shell before gluing anything together. This will give you an idea if there are any areas of the house where it would be better to paint or wallpaper before putting together. Some houses have areas that are almost impossible to paint or wallpaper once put together. Also, a dry fit will show you any modification you might need to do to a tab or slot, sometimes I've had to make a tab a little smaller or enlarge a slot a bit to get them to fit properly.

4. Masking tape is your friend B) It will hold various house pieces together while you wait for the glue to dry - freeing you up to work on another aspect of the house. Small clamps and wooden clothespins with the spring closure work great for holding small pieces together while the glue dries as well.