any homeschoolers?

jujurodgers

I need some help and wonder if anyone is homeschooling their kid(s). I do not really belong to any other forums and live incredibly rurally (none of my friends out here have kids!) and my 9 yr old is having a very difficult time in school. I beleive I need to homeschool him and have no money for a program. Does anyone know of any programs that are free (without spending 40 hrs a week designing a lesson plan). I am self employed and so am at home, although not like I have a ton of time!! Just needs to be done and I have to make it work somehow. I do not want a Christian based program, just general educational needs for a 4th grader in terms of what needs to be known for that age. I have no worries about his intelligence or my ability to teach him things (he is my 5th kid and my kids have generally known more than their peers about many things because I research and write for a living and always chat up about what I am researching!! LOL) but want to make sure he meets the requirements for his age. Thanks for any replies I may get. I know this group is just so helpful and caring and this makes me comfortable asking! :welcome:

Hi Julie,

You can most certainly homeschool very inexpensively. I spend less every year to homeschool than I spent in classroom supplies like tissues and hand sanitizer the last year my kids were in school. Which was 10 years ago!

I sent you a PM with more info, as well.

From time to time I've spotted home-schooling materials in thrift stores! (not that that's any help for you). We couldn't afford to homeschool, we both had to WORK when all three boys were in school; but we sure did a lot of extra work with them in maths, and they could all read WELL before they ever started kindergarten.