a return to miniatures after 20 years

More than 20 years ago, my mother and I became interested in miniature dollhouses. She built a few houses from kits and we frequently went together to miniature shops and to conventions. It was a shared interest that we had a lot of fun with.

In the rashness of youth, I decided to design and build my own house from scratch. Always ambitious, the house was quite large: 41 long, 37 high, 17 deep. I spent a lot of time building it and then installing asphalt shingles, siding, buying windows and doors, ordering custom made (and very expensive) curved archways and fireplaces from a man in CA. I can't remember his name, was wondering if anyone else knew of him? I also made a lot of furniture from House of Miniature kits. I am surprised at how good these still look.

Then I graduated from college, got a job, and moved to a small condo. The house sat in her basement for the next 20+ years. It was just too big to take with me and I found other interests.

Very sadly, my dear mother passed away last week. When I thought about what I needed from her house, the dollhouse came to mind first. I went yesterday with a strong friend and a pickup truck and brought it home with me. It very much overwhelms my bedroom, as I am still in a small condo. But I am glad to have it and all of the good memories it carries.

So, I will probably be needing a lot of guidance in trying to finish it finally.

I am very sorry for the sad circumstances that have brought me here, but I am glad to have my house again.

Thank you all.

Christine

post-12106-0-66331500-1320595703_thumb.j

Hi Christine, and welcome to the group.

Your house is very handsome, and I am sure that you will enjoy getting involved in it again.

I am sorry for your loss. I hope that this will be a good way to keep your mother's memory close to you.

:welcome: