Roach Motel Hell

sommerstern7

I know I haven't been on here in FOREVER and for that I must say I'm sorry I have been so busy and I miss everyone. On the flip side, I figured someone might be able to benefit from what happened to me in this story, so here it is... A short time ago, I saw an auction for a vintage half scale Fairfield. It was older and looked as though it needed work, but it was a FINISHED house and seemed to only need some remodeling. Although I have a nice collection of half scale furniture, I have never worked in half scale before, but I have built a 1/144th tudor and am currently finishing a 1/4 scale manor, so with all of my new found interest in smaller scales, I thought "WHY NOT?", bid on it, and won. I of course could not wait for my prized conquest to arrive at my door, even making certain to pay the extra postage to receive it via UPS. I was irritated to find that despite my efforts, the house was sent USPS instead (strike one). The day my mail carrier arrived at my door with a rather tattered looking package that was comprised of two cardboard boxes taped together--no FRAGILE tape or HANDLE WITH CARE sticker to be seen (strike 2), I became skeptical. Normally I open packages inside, but something told me to take this outside and open it, which I did PROMPTLY (probably due to the excitement I was still feeling at this point). I took it and a small cutter out to my back patio where I tried to find a place to open this Rubic's Cube of a box that it was sent in. I found the least possible point of damage to the house would be from the bottom and proceeded to cut open the box. Sure enough, the house was now upside down, so I turned the entire box around and lifted the box, old newspaper, and plastic bags wrapped in masking tape upward and away from the house. At this point a smell so HORRID hit me, it about knocked me over. Clearly this package came from a smoker, but it smelled as if perhaps the tiny half scale residents who dwelled inside the