First Dollhouse Build

shipsmanor

Hello all. I am Erik and just purchased my first dollhouse. I chose the Beacon Hill because it somewhat looks like the house I used for my business. I am a cross stitch designer and have always loved crafts. Always been fascinated by miniatures. Obviously don't see any art as gender oriented. I've been building some furniture (house of miniature kits) to practice on until the dollhouse arrives (this friday!). I'm pretty handy at building things but I know I will have a ton of questions and run into problems. So, I came here to be with the experts. Thanks, in advance, for any advice and help. I am excited!

Welcome to the neighborhood Erik. We have a couple of new members who are building Beacon Hills right now. Be sure to look through the other new member intros to find them. We also have many experienced members who've built BHs and will have all kinds of insights to share. Have fun!

Welcome to the little family, Erik, and I can't agree with you more on crafts being non-gender specific; one of my sons wanted to learn needlepoint and crewel when he was small; I just wish he'd kept his interest! I love to adapt crossstitch patterns to mini! I make everything that goes into my houses, including furniture. Do share pictures of your work and your builds with us, which you can do when you've made five posts. And whatever you do, don't use hot glue to assemble your BH.

My grandfather built the house I am working on now back in 1932. He made all the furniture for it as well. I don't think "gender" when I think of any type of crafts. Talent and interest is what counts. Welcome aboard and don't feel funny about asking questions. Lots of people on here that are willing to help.