Ndoniyamanzi

Hi everyone

I would like to introduce myself, my name is Sarah, I live in Empangeni, South Africa, where I work as a doctor.

I am a complete newbie to the world of miniatures, apart from ice cream stick cabins I built as an eight year old fashioned after the Little House on the Prairie. I have always loved dollhouses (I had a beautiful shop-bought dollhouse as a little girl inherited from older cousins), and it was my absolute favorite plaything and made my imagination run wild.

I also have a deeply entrenched love of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House books. I would therefore like to make my first project a log-cabin dollhouse, furnished after the log cabin built in the second book in the series (Little house on the prairie)

I have been checking out Dura-Craft houses available on eBay. What is the difference between the Oregon trail log cabin and the Pioneer cabin by Dura-Craft? They look the same to me in the pictures posted on line.

I would also like to ask, has anyone built one of these two houses before? Are they worth it, or is there a better model kit for a pioneer cabin?

Also, what tools, glues and other supplies will I need to purchase for this project? ( I won't be using wallpaper as I want to maintain the rustic pioneer feel)

Thanks everyone, and nice to meet you.

• Like 2

Hi Sarah and :welcome: to the forum!

Greenleaf Dollhouses (sponsor of this forum) has two cabins that you might also consider, the Creekside and the Shadybrook.

It is my understanding that the DuraCraft houses are made of MDF board, which is much heavier than the 1/8" plywood used in the Greenleaf kits. The difference in shipping costs to get it to you in South Africa may be a consideration.