Hello from New Zealand

HelenV

Hello everyone,

Ever since I was a little girl I wanted a lovely dolls house so I have finally decided to fulfil this dream :) I have bought the Magnolia kit and am very excited to be getting on with building it :)

I have just finished (with a little help from my husband) my dry build and so pleased I did this as my original colours etc have all gone out the window and I am now have a totally different scheme in mind. It's been sitting there for a week as I've thought and rethought ...

As I've never built one before I'm sure I'll have questions and it's great to have found a place I'll be able to get answers :D

• Like 2

Welcome to the little family, Helen. I LOVE Maggie!, she's one of my favorite houses. Before I knew I was going to build her I saw one assembled in a hobby shop that told me it would make a perfect Florida "Cracker" house, so when my kit arrived I went hiking into the local National Forest to check out the remains of the houses there; and also Cross Creek south of Micanopy, FL (where Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings lived) to get structural details to make her authentic. The lines will adapt so well to different styles, as you'll notice in the Team Magnolia building blog.

• Like 1

That is a very pretty house!

I hear what you're saying about changing the colours - I have a Garfield still in its box (have to wait a few months before I can start building, in case I may have to move to another continent!) and I've Pinned so many different colour schemes on Pinterest, that I really don't know what I'm going to do. I will have to wait and see what she wants eventually!

• Like 1

Welcome to the forum,Helen! This is a great place to share your love for dollhouses and you'll learn something new and fun every time you come in! Just let the house 'tell' you what colors it wants to be...it will be right! It may sound kooky, but we really are not kidding! ;) Glad you've joined us!

• Like 1