Newbie from Fort Mill, SC

dkumpula

Hello, mini-makers,

My name is David and I've been lurking in this forum as I began my Beacon Hill build. First let me say that the artistic and creative skills demonstrated by the members of this forum are truly impressive. I can't tell you how many times I've thought "WOW!"s while looking at the work you've posted.

I am new to building minitures, but I've thought for some time about building a dollhouse for my daughter who just turned two. As I've done a bit of precision and 1:1 building with metal and wood, my original intention was to design and build something from scratch. While looking on-line for inspiration, however, I saw the Beacon Hill and quickly determined that a detailed mini like this one was best addressed through a kit. Not to mention, I wanted to have the finished product in my girl's hands within weeks as opposed to decades! :)

I jumped in with both feet at the end of April and thanks to a great kit, great instructions and awesome advice from this forum's members, I completed the initial assembly in under two months. (Originally, I was hoping to complete it within two weeks, but obviously I was clueless.) ;0

post-61126-0-22135400-1403370926_thumb.j

In the near future, I will incorporate some 'personality' and other customizations into the mini with the advice of the skilled artisans of this forum.

Oh - and although I originally had no intention of building more than one mini, I've already purchased the 1:144 scale Beacon Hill.

Many thanks for your support!

-David

• Like 2

Welcome to the little family, David; you're by no means the first gentleman to become lured into the world of the tiny, whether by a daughter, granddaughter, or just plain fascination with making scaled down things.

Welcome to the forum, David!

That is a wonderful house - did you already do the interiors? There are tons of advice here to help out if you have any questions.

Thank you both for the warm welcome!