Van Buren Restoration

pagesshoes

I just started restoring my mother's beloved Van Buren dollhouse that her father made for her in the 70s. It has seen some VERY hard times, including a hurricane during the last attempt at restoration, but I'm making some progress on bringing it back to life.

I have one concern though, the front door has gone missing, and the opening seems larger than typical dollhouse doors. I'm a total novice at this, and was wondering if anyone had any advice as to what I should do. I know they don't make Van Buren pieces anymore, so does anyone have any other suggestions?

I made new doors for the Laurel I rehabbed using 1'8" basswood, and I'm making all working doors for the Washington 2.0 kit I'm presently building. I traced the door opening onto a sheet of 1/4" graph paper and built a perimeter box within the dimensions of that opening using stripwood 3/16" (or so) wide. Then I traced around the interior of the box to get the dimensions for the door (For the Pierce I replaced the douple door with a single door with sidelights, but I did double doors for the diningroom and for the additions I was bashing into the blank end wall, before it was demolished). This way the doors can be pinhinged to the box and inserted into the door opening (for the Pierce I was still using the chamois strips to hinge). Doors are extremely easy to make.

• Like 1

Hi Page, and welcome to the Greenleaf family. I can relate to your story because my father built my first dollhouse in 1979, and my second (and last) dollhouse was also in a hurricane during its restoration process. It was at my friend's house when Hurricane Irene struck New Jersey and flooded her basement in 2011, and I am now making arrangements to have the house professionally wallpapered, etc.