Garfield - question about tabs and gluing

iwishtofish

I'm just beginning a Garfield. I'm trying to figure out the function of the tabs on the foundation pieces (and others). Are they supposed to fit snugly? Are they just there as a placement guide, or are they meant to be points for gluing? Also, should they always be filed down to the point where the straight edges of the components are always completely flush (I can see an issue with that for the foundation parts)? Sorry for the long, jumbled question!

Welcome to the concept of the dry fit. This is where you fit the pieces of the shell together and hold them in place with masking tape so you can see how the kit goes together. This is where you trim the tabs and slots to fit together and mask off the edges that will be glued together and identify the areas that will be impossible to decorate after the shell is glued together and stairs installed. Once the house is together you can sand the tbs flush and fill the slots with spackle or cover them up with whatever treatments the house wants.

Ah, thanks, Holly. I've tried taping the initial foundation parts together...this obviously will take some practice, too! :) The instructions emphasize to glue only when told to do so, so I'm going to try to follow them as closely as possible, and plan ahead, like you said. The first step on the Garfield is really tricky, as they want the builder to fit the initial foundation pieces together, and then FLIP the whole thing without gluing - egads! - in order to attach the first floor pieces. It's going to have to be really well-taped to do that, as all the pieces flop all over the place. I'm up to this challenge, though, lol.

Is it important that all the wood edges are completely flush when gluing, or is it not necessary to worry about small gaps? Just asking because it seems like it will take a lot of careful sanding and filing to ensure that, if necessary.