Trying to choose my first dolhouse

Hi there!

I'm a 22 year old homemaker who really enjoys crafting and working with my hands. I also love miniatures :) I have spent the past couple of weeks researching and I really want to buy a kit. Miniatures are very expensive as are dollhouses and I'm trying to be semi-on a budget! I am looking for your recommendations on a dollhouse kit that ships to Canada and is a reasonable price. I'm also a beginner at building so I'm looking for something I can handle doing myself.

I'm really loving the Arthur, the Willow, Coventry Cottage, and one other I can't remember at minute ;)

I love seeing all the beautiful creations, I hope to stick around a while!

Stefanie

It's nice to meet you Stefanie. We'll be glad to answer any questions and help in any way we can. There are several nice sized houses that are affordable. Greenleaf ships to Canada so that's the first thing on your list. We can help with the second two (affordable and easy for a first-time house) as well. The Arthur is a nice house that's very easy to build. Greenleaf has a "select" edition that's made of birch wood so it's even easier to work with. The Orchid is another excellent choice for a first house. Both are mid-sized and have lots of space inside. A bit larger but one I always recommend for a first build is the Laurel. If children will be playing with the house, the Laurel is perfect since it has nice, large rooms that small hands can reach into easily. It's also super easy to build.

We have lots of building blogs here that you can look thru and get a feel for what you'll be doing as you build. Sometimes that makes a difference in the kit you'll choose and you can also see how much potential there can be in one kit when it's built by several people. The great thing about Greenleaf houses is that it starts as a kit and quickly turns into something very unique to each individual.