HELP! Painting furniture?

Rocio

Hi you guys, well yesterday I was all smiles because my new furniture had arrived. Today I'm a little frustrated.

Maybe my idea of painting the furniture in a Shabby-Chic style was not so good after all?

Good thing I haven't sanded everything LOL. I did sand a few pieces of the living room set, and removed the upholstery on the couch and chairs. I started with the couch and primed it, and I've been painting it a glossy white.

The paint look's think and, all the brush marks are visible (is that ok)? Umm, any special secrets or suggestions to painting mini's?

Thanks, I tried looking for the information on past post but did find anything. I'll post some pic's up a lil later.

post-958-1160967039_thumb.jpg

I'm still fairly new at this, but I've been told that the size of the brush is particularly important if you don't want brush marks to show. I get the best results when I apply one coat of primer, and two coats of the final color, using a brush that the same width as the object I'm painting if possible. Also, I've found that brush marks don't show as much when I use a lot of paint and saturate the brush.

Hopefully someone else will have some ideas for you. :blush:

Hi thanks, I'll go look for some new brushes tommorow. I followed your advice and I added a second coat and I like it a lot more now. I still get the lines though.

THANK YOU.

The picutre isn't that great, sorry.

Glossy paints tend to show brush marks more than satin or matte finishes. I've painted white matte finish and then added a coat or two of clear polyurethane to give the item a shiny finish.

Or you may want to leave some pieces with a dull finish and add wear marks with an emery board on the "worn" places. Depends on how shabby you want them to be. :blush:

Yes, sponge brushes are best. Just keep the way it is now and use the sponge for another coat. It may cover over the lines. I would do light coats. Slowly build up to cover the marks.