need input on cottage design (half scale)

grazhina

I started drawing plans for a half scale Grimm fairy tale style witch's cottage a few days ago. I'm so used to 1" scale and I kept worrying I was drawing things out too big, but I think I've gotten over that part. 

Is 3 & 1/2" too low for a half scale ceiling as far as visibility goes? The main room will be open to the roof rafters, so that's not a problem there, but I've thinking about a cellar where the witch or sorcerer could go down to work on things in secret. 4" half inch scale equates to 8 feet in real life, too high for a cottage cellar carved out of earth and rock in my opinion. Right now the floorplan measures 8" wide by 5 & 1/2" deep. 

For those with half scale houses, how wide are your stairs? I want mine to be narrow, but I don't want them too narrow.

Because there's a lower level under the house, there needs to be a decent amount of  space in front for stairs to the front door, stepping stones, greenery, etc. I could wind up with 12" of "front yard", because I don't want a sudden sharp rise to the front door. I might get away with 8", but I can't be having my little old person scrambling up rocks with her bag of fresh picked veggies to get to the door. The reason I'm trying half inch scale is as a space saver. Do you feel an extra amount for the front sort of defeats the purpose?

Every time I work on the plans I keep getting interrupted and I get frustrated and almost want to chuck it.

OMG - you and Lisa. Lisa's working out a cottage plan also (1:12) and I know she's been really frustrated as well.

With the lower level, I think all you'd need would be one room under the house and it doesn't have to take up all the whole underside of the house. Just center a little room under the house and then build your landscaping over and around it. You would still have room for a stone walkway, but not have any stairs to the front door. The cellar room would only be visible from the back, not the front.