South Carolina Y'all

rimali87

Hi! I'm Lindsey and I'm from the Charleston area of SC. I have 2 daughters ages 8 & 9 and we are homeschoolers. I am completely new at dollhouses, besides playing with them as a child. :)  I've always loved looking at other people's work with dollhouses and in awe of  the realistic miniatures but never did it myself. My daughters love dollhouses and crafts so I knew this would be fun for us to do and enjoy together. I have no idea what I'm doing so I'm I glad to have this blog to help me. Now all I need are the dollhouses which should arrive in the next few days.  Any advice for a beginner is more than welcome. :)

Welcome, Lindsey. I love it in your part of the world. My favorite place there is Magnolia Plantation. I hope one of these years we can go back down there again.

Right now I am building dollhouses for my two grandsons. They love the one I built for their sister. When we get out to NY to see them at Christmas, we are all going to do Fimo food. It's so much fun to be able to work with kids!

• Like 1

Welcome, Lindsey!  The Pierce is a really pretty house, and I know your daughters will love theirs.  

The best advice I ever received was not to use hot glue on anything but shingles, even if the instructions tell you to do so.  I use wood glue or tacky glue, and I think everyone in this forum has a favorite brand!  Another good piece of advice is to dry fit everything so you don't glue parts on backwards or upside down (had to learn that one the hard way, unfortunately).  

I look forward to seeing your progress on both houses!