I find this very disappointing

kathi17

Reutter Porzellan is supposed to be one of the nicer miniature companies. It's one of those companies, that is well respected, and I find it sad to see that some of their stuff is the same Chinese stuff you can get for pennies on the dollar.

I have one of their punch bowls, and I value it so much that it is still in it's plastic case on display in a curio cupboard with other nicer miniatures.

5 minutes ago, Mimajo said:

I have the box from China and it is very well put together.  The box is actually hinged, and sturdey, not with tape, you know?  I was very satisfied with it.

I would be very happy with the one from China, but if I had bought the Reutter one, I would have been terribly dissapointed when I saw the Chinese one.

I've had some bad experiences with buying things from China that once arrived, was nothing like the picture.  The worst instance for me was for a formal ball gown I ordered for our annual debutante ball - the picture was of a beautiful satin ball gown that was a dark plum shade.  What I received appeared to be a magenta colored trash bag.  There was also the time my size 1 teenage daughter bought a ton of clothes from a Chinese distributor and when they arrived, they almost fit my 4 year old.  As a result, I now avoid purchasing things from China off ebay, but I honestly haven't looked at many miniatures from China.  I may have to reconsider my current stance.

Reutter Porzellan is made in Germany they pay their workers quite a bit more and I would guess you aren't going to find any lead in the glaze or other things we aren't supposed to be using anymore. 

Honestly a lot of the Chinese stuff is cheap because they take things like Reutter and copy them so there is almost $0.00 development cost, they use shoddy materials, and safety standards are non existant

• Like 3

20 minutes ago, jaxenro said: