Hobbies

WyckedWood

Does anyone else oil paint? I've messed around with it for about a year now, I'm self taught but have a few artists that I try really hard to understand their techniques. I've always loved thomas kinkade and have tried a few of his paintings, this one is after his Honeymoon at Fallbrooke Hutch. He influenced my dollhouses too, so sorry he's gone from this world. 

This is a 16x20 oil, oil painting is truly as obsessive as dollhousing! 

image.jpg

• Like 2

A few others of his that I've done (((attempted))). I don't off the top of my head remember the names of these. The little Christmas cottage was the first one I tried, it's an 8x10, then the cottage with the stream is 16x20 and the one with the one of the river alone is 12x24. 

I feel the same way about ️paintings as I do dollhouses, hate to see them go so these are all decorating my craft room :) 

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

• Like 1

Thanks Tabby and Sue, Sue I have a very hard time with drawing too. I know my painting books stress that you have to be able to draw in order to paint, other sources will say the opposite. That's definitely hard for me, but Im trying to get better.

I have recently taken up painting lessons but I am using acrylics. The lady who teaches runs four terms of classes each year (coincides with school terms) and so I did the fourth term last year and will do terms 2 and 3 this year. I painted and drew at school and in my earlier adult years, but needed to get confidence and skills up. I need to be pushed along. If I am not good at something straight away, I tend to give up. 

Your paintings are beautiful Karin. No wonder your dollhouses are so magical.

Thank you all, appreciate it.