My First Dollhouse

Greetings all. I am new to Doll Houses thanks to my sweet and loving 6 yr old. Worked on real houses which are not as delicate for these big ole hands. Bought the Orchid doll house and it get frustrating when things don't go together. One thing it's teaching me patience and self control. Ha.:cry:Am having a really tough time with the gluing of parts and not being able to use my nail gun to construct. Could use some help on paints and gluing techniques

Go ahead and shave down edges of the tabs so they fit smoothly. A dry fit with painters tape is always recommended before glueing. I use E3000 or Quik Grab (hard to find now for some reason). Again, painters tape to hold the pieces together while the glue dries.  I've used manual staple guns for really stubborn joints.

You may need to shave down and sand some of the edges as well to get the whole thing to fit together without popping apart. As Sable said, dry fit... then dry fit again and again, if necessary. I am working on the Orchid and found it necessary to drill tiny, tiny holes with my Dremel through the roof into the walls and stick some pins in with glue to keep it from popping apart. That was after I shaved down the upper edge of the front wall. It is together now and makes me feel much better that the little girl who is getting it will be less likely to break it.

Enjoy the build. It is a fun house to build with many possibilities.

Sable, I use Quick Grip as well. I have found it at Hobby Lobby and at Wal-mart. It used to be in the automotive section, but I have been finding it in the sewing/crafts section lately. I think part of why we have been having a harder time finding it is partly because they seem to be changing the colors on the tube. I almost missed it when I went looking for the last tube I got. I saw it at Jo-Anne's Fabric's, too, after I had just bought the tube at Wal-mart.