Cross stitching a baby afghan

fov

I'm going to make an afghan for my friend who's pregnant. She's due in a month so I'm starting pretty late. Hopefully I can finish it before the baby's first birthday!

Here's the design: http://www.simplicity.com/animal-abc-afghan-counted-cross-stitch_70-74827/70-74827.html

I like that it's stylized, most of the patterns I found were very greeting card cutesy but this one looks more like Dr. Seuss to me. The fabric that came with it is 18-count and very soft.

I've been cross stitching for 20+ years but I've never done an afghan before, and for the past 5+ years I've been doing petitpoint which is a whole different thing. I'm a little overwhelmed and nervous looking at the size of this thing. The first line in the instructions is to do a machine stitch all the way around the fabric. I have a sewing machine but never really learned how to use it, and I'm afraid to mess up the afghan. For mini projects I usually don't do anything with my raw edges and for bigger pieces I usually used masking tape even though it's frowned upon.

The afghan fabric has a large amount of slop beyond the stitching area and the blocks worked into the fabric already sort of make a finished edge, so I'm hoping I can get away with not doing the machine stitch around the edge. If it seems like it's becoming a problem I guess I can do a row of cross stitch by hand around the outer edge. I'm planning to add a fringe when it's done, possibly with knots instead of the plain fringe in the picture just because I like the look of it better. Something like this: http://www.just-crossstitch.com/newsletters/images/2015/52301315-01/07_lg.jpg

I might post progress pics here from time to time because I don't think she'd ever see them here, she's not a miniaturist...

Has anyone here stitched an afghan before? Any pointers?