New or rehab preferences and advice

amyole

Recently a new member asked about purchasing an already built house to rehab or purchasing a new kit. There was a lot of advice for both options, so I thought maybe we could all put down our preferences and recommendations.

Here are my thoughts:

I became a little soured on rehabs when I tried to rehab a very old, scratch built house that was falling apart every time I touched it. I ended up scrapping it (& still carry the guilt). I did not have the experience to know that either it was probably beyond repair or really be able to repair it. I have purchased a couple of houses that were partially put together and that has worked out better (2 have had hot glue that has to be removed). That said, I prefer to purchase a kit. I like the clean slate and am learning how to bash kits a little now that I have some experience.

Price has also factored into my decisions. Some of the kits I have found or partially made houses have been financially worth the investment. I would not have known what was reasonable when I first started (but sometimes my impulsiveness still gets the best of me).

• Like 1

My second house was purchased through Craigslist and it was a perfectly pre-built kit. It had been primed but that was it as far as decor.  It was a massive Worthington. Personally, I don't think I would ever but a kit for a massive house, I would search out one already built but not finished. On the other hand, I don't mind building from a kit if it is a medium or smaller sized. 

Another deciding factor is that I like to use my own roof shingles. I wouldn't buy a house that has already been shingled.

• Like 1

I prefer to build the kits, but have one house for rehab and recently gave a fully built, almost completely decorated house to my great, great niece (she's only 3). She loves the house and plays with it daily.