Hello from Washington State!

I'm just getting started on my first dollhouse.  It's a half scale Greenleaf Jefferson kit.  I had a rough start, the first one was warped.  Greenleaf has excellent customer service and sent me out another on right away though.  So far it's coming together really well.

I'm looking forward to participating on the forums -I really needed a hobby and I am so excited about it!

Any tips on DIY furnishing/decor projects in this scale?  I'd also like to find a source for nice half scale dolls or figures.

IMG_20161030_49159.jpg

Welcome to the little family, Amber.  When I built my first 1:24 scale house, the hacienda, I had found a few furniture kit at Ron's Miniatures in Orlando, FL.  I made several items (the stove & the kitchen table & chairs & stair railings) from scratch, as well as Jose & Lupita Poquito.  I lucked out and found several 1:24 bathroom set boxes in the bottom of a pile along the clearance wall at Hobby Lobby, and after a while I finally got around to building the 1:24 Bar Harbor summer "cottage" (two Fairfield kits, one of them built inside out and both bashed to kingdom come & back).  The ready made furniture sets I had gotten from Hobby Builders Supply were MUCH smaller that the 1:24 furniture kits I had gotten at Ron's, so after many *magic* words I wound up making almost everything in both houses (I kept the little brass beds).  Big box craft stores like Hobby Lobby and Michaels sometimes have beads & charms that will work in this scale.  Except for the kitchen range which was a 1:24 DIY article in Dollhouse Miniatures, all the rest of the furniture I built myself from scratch was scaled down from plans & diagrams for 1:12 stuff.

havanaholly -Wow!  Making all of that from scratch is amazing.  1:24 is so small, I'm finding it tricky to make things that look to scale.  I'll keep practicing!!  Also, the residents of your house are charming!  I need to find some folks to live in mine!

mesp2k -Thank you!! :)

• Like 1