Hello from Massachusetts

josiebee

Hi everyone! I am new to building or renovating a dollhouse. Although I have a huge love for them, I never did any building. As a child I played with my mom's, but as time went on it fell apart. Now as an adult I could spend hours looking at someones dollhouse and furniture. My husband came across a dollhouse on Ebay that needs some work and bought it for me. I am so excited about working on it and getting to put all my furniture in it when through. I am a bit overwhelmed, and have been searching a lot of websites on what to do. I guess my first thing I want to do is shingle the roof. I think of an actual home and figure you need to have a good roof to protect it. LOL. This site seems to have lots of helpful people on it, and I look forward to reading and getting lots of useful advise.

Welcome to the little family, Joanne.  Is your house a kit or a stick built?  I think it depends on how well built it is and what all needs doing to bring it up.  I find a lot of areas I need to flip the house on its sides or roof to get to places I need to rehab, and sometimes it's just easier to take the whole thing apart nd start over; but I always do the roof the very last.

Hi, Joanne, and welcome to the forum. When you have made five posts, you can open a personal photo Gallery to show us your house and the progress you make on rehabbing it. Let the house lead the way as you work on it. I like the image of a good roof to protect the house.