Frustrated

LowcountryBelle

Okay, so I am brand new to this, got my first house that I am rehabbing and making into a Christmas Santa house. I am to the process of painting, wallpapering etc. Long story short I am struggling with indecisiveness, I think I get colors and walls figured out then it seems not to flow, I am trying to use as much furniture that came with it but I'm struggling with that too. The kitchen cabinets are what appears to be from a simple little kit (old) and I just do not like them...do I buy new cabinets?? Attempt to make new ones?? Try to modify what I have..again :dunno:?? 

This site is invaluable and the amount of talent you all have is just jaw dropping. I am in awe at all the amazing work on these beautiful houses. I have so much to learn, I feel overwhelmed tonight and I so want my house to be as beautiful as it possibly can be, I'm so scared I'm going to screw it up or not give it the justice it deserves...Did you all feel this way too when you first got started? 

Frustration comes and goes, as does motivation and inspiration. Don't force the build. If you don't like the cabinets (or any other part) don't use them - you will waste time and potentially money on something that will irk you in the future. Put in what you love and you can't go wrong. I find it useful to collect images that I like, then I can see if I think the ideas will work together. Scour Pinterest or magazines. See what you like in other people's builds. For me, I "know" when something is right. It seems to me that you know what is wrong here. Trust your instinct. And have fun!

• Like 2

1 hour ago, LowcountryBelle said:

I feel overwhelmed tonight and I so want my house to be as beautiful as it possibly can be, I'm so scared I'm going to screw it up or not give it the justice it deserves.

Don't be frightened of your house.. there is nothing you could do to it that can't be fixed or re-done, short of burning it down with a box of matches. :D