Guess I'm diving in headfirst...

Foxbright

Hi there! 

This afternoon, a friend of mine gave me a dollhouse kit that she's had in her garage (yikes) since before her kids were born; a Duracraft 505.  It was packed in 1995, about a week before my thirteenth birthday--I can only hope that it doesn't fall entirely apart when  I start putting it together.  I'm really thrilled that she thought of me.

I've never built a dollhouse before. I always wanted one as a child, but there was never room in the houses where I grew up.  When I hit adulthood I got into BJDs, doing all my own faceups, making my own wigs, etc; I've been building cardboard roomboxes for them, but never had an actual dollhouse kit.  It's a different thing almost entirely, I think, from working in scavenged Amazon boxes and hot glue.

And now I have this marvelous present, which is huge and overwhelming and probably not a good place for a total n00b to start? I'm excited, but also I very badly don't want to mess it up, so I suppose I might get a much smaller and less-expensive kit and start with that.

At any rate, I'm really glad to find the resource of these forums, so that if I get into a tight spot I can beg for help!

• Like 3

Welcome Gen! If you start at the start and take your time, I am sure you can do a great job of your kit. There's a good chance someone here has built that kit (the farmhouse?) and can help you along. I have waaay too many BJDs too. I started off into miniatures and then discovered Blythe through miniatures and then discovered BJDs through Blythe. But I can't afford BJDs anymore! Look forward to seeing your progress photos.

• Like 1

Hi Gen, and welcome to the forum!

As you build your house, keep in mind our admin Tracy's (Minis on the Edge) motto: It's hard by the yard but a cinch by the inch. :D  Easy does it. Take it slow and ask as many questions as you need to. No question is too trivial and may be helpful to another newbie on down the road.

• Like 1