Pottery Preferences?

Milah

Hello! Extreme newbie here, and not exactly a member of the dollhouse community (yet?!). I have a question for you, however! If I should move this post elsewhere or anything like that please let me know.

My passion is creating mini ceramics, often with somewhat intricate designs. I especially like Maya, Southwest American Indian, and geometric ornamental designs. My family insists that I should create pottery for the dollhouse community and I figured I'll give it a try. I'm going to start attending craft fairs and maybe selling on Etsy and would love to get your opinions on what styles of ceramics appeal to you.

The issue I think I'm going to come across is making them small enough while still retaining the type of intricate designs I like. Right now, for instance, my plates average 2 inches across, far to big for dollhouse use. Right? Or are there some cases where this would be an okay size? Looking around other sites like Etsy it seems they max at 1 inch.

I don't have a pottery wheel or kiln so I can't yet make the nifty jugs and such. Shaping them by hand is too difficult. Mine are made from air dry clay or polymer clay, depending on what I'm making. Would this make a difference to you, as long as the result is still pottery-esque?

Styles! What styles are you personally interested in? Victorian floral? Chinese porcelain? Plain Raku ware-like? Other? Please give me your opinions, because I want to know what kinds of things would be the best to make!

Forms! Which are most desired? Plates, bowls, other crockery? Would you want them individually or only in sets?

Anything else you can think of to help me in this direction?

I'll link to an image of my latest batch, quite an eclectic mix. Like I said, far too large for dollhouses so I'll have to miniaturize further. I'll also include a couple images that have been photographed more professionally, so you can get an idea of my style.

Pottery Examples

Moroccan Bowl