Tape wire

Mary11

Apply clear tape over it and the connecting eyelets then you can prime over the tape. I haven't always primed it but it is recommended.

i live in a salty environment so it is important to keep the salt air away from the connections, that's why I tape it plus it keeps the eyelets from coming loose.

• Like 1

Just now, jbnmini said:

Sable- do you use the clear packing tape?  Would that be better than using masking tape?

I've found that the stickum on masking tape will dry out over time and cause the tape to let go. I'd opt for the clear packing tape.

• Like 1

• 3 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
On 9/12/2017, 7:53:04, Sable said:

Yes, clear packing tape.

Hi, Sable.  I probably already know the answer to this, but can clear packing tape be used to connect a light fixture wire to the copper tape run?  Others have mentioned using either eyelets or solder to connect light fixtures.  I would like to try soldering, but I have never done it before and I am afraid the solder would leave a lump.   However, if I tried using clear packing tape, it would probably be hard to remove if the light fixture needed to be accessed for repair.  

1 hour ago, mks said:

Hi, Sable.  I probably already know the answer to this, but can clear packing tape be used to connect a light fixture wire to the copper tape run?  Others have mentioned using either eyelets or solder to connect light fixtures.  I would like to try soldering, but I have never done it before and I am afraid the solder would leave a lump.   However, if I tried using clear packing tape, it would probably be hard to remove if the light fixture needed to be accessed for repair.