Hurricane Nate

Sable

Good Luck, holly! If you think you will lose power remember my suggestion to purchase the long strings of LED lights from Michaels (currently in the Halloween section) and get AA batteries. The D and C batteries for flashlights don't last long and they will be sold out in no time.

Im now a hurricane expert so if you have any questions, please ask.

• Like 2

My first experience with hurricanes was when I was six years old in West Palm Beach in 1948, and I've been through one or two since then.  We have our camping lanterns & candles handy and the generator's ready to plug in.  Stopped by Lowe's today to get replacement thumbscrews to batten down the Bahama shutters, and I start filling water jugs tonight.  We also keep a bag of fresh batteries in a variety of sizes, and I just restocked some freeze-dried breakfasts.  We find that what works for camping also works well for hurricanes.  May it miss S FL as completely as the projections from the weather service indicate.  Matt & all our NOLA friends stay safe.

• Like 1

We are keeping an eye on it, especially now the projected path has shifted more west.  But luckily, and I hope it holds to the guestimate, and will be a weak system, and if it is a hurricane at landfall, it will be a weak #1.  I've been through enough hurricanes and tropical storms to last me a long time, and a TS is usually just rain, rain, and more rain.  I am stocked on lights, candles, and crank charge lamps!  

I am sitting in my new house near Atlanta thinking that if I weren't here, I'd probably be driving someplace (maybe here) to escape the storm. Lloyd instilled in me the 400 mile rule. Any time the eye of a hurricane got within 400 miles, we'd be on the road, no matter what its number. I understand Mayor Landrieu has proactively declared a state of emergency. Y'all stay dry!

10 minutes ago, KathieB said: