New guy on the block

LinemansLife

Hello world,

I recently joined the forum and wanted to say Howdy and introduce myself. My name is Karl, I joined this forum as I am new to the doll's house world and know little to nothing about building a dolls house. So here is my goal. I have a 5 year old daughter who loves dolls of all shapes and sizes she has a dolls house right now and its her favorite thing to play with. I would love to build her one from scratch and have her play with something i made. So i looked on the internet and drew her up a design. Now its time for for to go out and buy the wood in order to make it. But where do i start? How do i size up a dolls house. What wood do i use? how do i figure out the electrics?

Please help!!!!

• Like 1

Welcome.  "Linemans life".  Not gonna even try to tell you about electricity.   Lol.  You might help us.  I have not built from scratch, but I might suggest a wool less than an inch.  Some folks like MDF, some don't.  I have found that home depot has 1/2" and 1/4 " wood in smaller sheets.  Some 2×2 ft, some 4x2ft.  I use them a lot.  Thicker kits are at hobby lobby.  Less detail on them, but studied  for a 5 yr old.  Greenleaf kits use thinner wood but have awesome detail wood

Welcome to the little family, Karl.  The hubs & I built our then-six year old granddaughter's first dollhouse using this book from Dover Publications:  http://store.doverpublications.com/0486234932.html  We used 3/8" plywood and installed a Houseworks door and left off the windows.  Our only criticism of the book was that the second floor plan was printed reversed.