As One Door Opens.....

BigC

Hi...I am a complete novice to this wonderful hobby and I am currently in the fro's of constructing my own Georgian dolls house (basically from scratch) and whilst I'm still working on the facade (and externals) for quite some time yet, I would like to ask for some help from the forum members who have been down these hallways before. Hallways being the operative word.

Thinking ahead I would like to look at some kind of flow pattern for the house, meaning stairwell placements and door positions off the hallway and landings...now the only thing I might suggest is that everything is quite tight in there (although still basically one twelfth scale)..From the image below how would you arrange stairs and door positions so as they have a purpose...I will be making the stairwells myself (I think) so any ideas involving false backs, returned stairs and mini landings, blind rooms and doors will be given serious attention.. Perhaps I should mention the box measurements for the hallways which are approximately 7 inch wide x 12 inch deep x 9 1/2 in height. (178mm x 305mm x 241mm)..pretty narrow..Then Georgian town house hallways and landings were perhaps quite narrow. I think this topic needs a lot of thought which is why I'm posting ahead of time....

Thankx sincerely  in advance for all your help innovative ideas and suggestions..(links and images please) Constructive criticism greatly accepted.

Regards Colin

sml room boxes.jpg