Kits, In General

BigC

I really like this forum and it's  co inhabitants and the myriad of advice a help on hand...I may not comment on every thread but that dont mean I haven't been reading and educating myself seeing as I'm a complete newbie to this hobby...I really love some of the Americana style house kits and namely Beacon Hill (I would love to build this one day)

But whats concerning me is the quality of the pieces and sizes within...Upon reading a great many posts I get the feeling that some of the parts dont really fit precisely as they should..This would irritate me no end considering the price tag on some of kits. Is this the norm?..or are we just accepting mediocrity from the manufacturers. Should they be doing more on the quality control front of their products?.. Now I know folks like to tinker and adapt but many newcomers may be put off by the lack of preciseness in size in the cutting of the parts..again is this to be expected...Are the aspects raised above really that annoying, how far out are the joints in real terms, have you a tale to tell regarding your particular kit experiences...please relate below..

I'm just putting this out there to gain a little insight as to what people wishing to buy a kit form house can expect upon opening the box and I welcome everyone's views surrounding this subject

Regards

C  

• Like 2

I think with the Greenleaf kits, because of the thinner wood, sometimes you run into problems with the tabs not fitting correctly or having to force some pieces together. That's just the nature of the wood used in their kits and the way it cuts. Remember, though, if there really is a problem or one of the sheets is beyond using, Greenleaf will replace it and they usually do that for free. That's not something every manufacturer does.