23 posts in this topic

Hello everyone! As the title states I am new to this, but I have just purchased a partially finished Victoria’s Farmhouse. It’s basically a shell. 

However, I have lots of questions!

•What tools should I get and invest in? Are there ones you wish you had when you were starting or one you can’t live with out? 

•The dollhouse is missing a piece! What should I do, is there a way to get a replacement? 

•The walls were not glued flush. There are gaps in a couple of places and the piece that is missing wouldn’t set flush if I had it because the roof would but up against it. There is one that is not glued on one side. How can I fix these?

•The entire outside is pairing a deep blue with bright trim. What is the best way to paint over it. I want white trim with a lighter exterior color. 

•All the dowels and railing pieces are painted as well. Would it be best to sand and repaint or buy new dowels. There are over 150 pieces that are painted, mostly dowels. 

Any help or resources would be appreciated!

I am trying to figure out how to post pictures but they are all to big. Any help there would be great as well!

Thanks,

Hello Dakota! Welcome, I'm pretty new to this too and I'm loving it! There are very helpful savvy minds on here. Others will weigh in on your questions. The one I can confidently answer is that I use Zinsser Bulls Eye 1-2-3 primer, you can paint it over gloss and varnish and the paint over it with any type of paint you like (I still like to sand the surface lightly beforehand though).

Welcome to the forum Dakota.:wave:

You can try to disassemble the house and then re-glue. You probably can get the missing piece from Real Good Toys.( https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0164/0860/files/JM1065_A4_6-17.pdf?5646145962560229785)