Fake chocolate/icing for gingerbread trim

abloom

I'm thinking about how to paint or coat all the fancy little trim pieces on my Hansel & Gretel Buttercup to make them look like either real chocolate or royal icing. (I haven't decided on the colors yet.) I've never tried to make any fake food before, but I saw some pretty convincing chocolates at this site...

https://makeitwithme-kell.blogspot.ca/2012/12/staedtler-fimo-bon-bons.html?m=1

... and I'm wondering if it's possible to make my house trim look like that. Has anyone tried covering little trim pieces from a kit with clay? Do you think I could get a thin enough coating that it doesn't obliterate the detail of the wood pieces? Could I bake them? Or would unbaked paperclay work? Or is there some easier way to make them look like chocolate or icing? Any ideas will be much appreciated!

To make the trim that comes with the kit look like chocolate, I'd just paint it a chocolate color. Adding chocolate-colored clay seems like an extra step that will over-complicate things (and might obscure the detail of the trim, like you said). A few years ago I bought a Behr paint sample that I think was called Chocolate Truffle, with an eggshell sheen, and it really does look like chocolate! I can't find it on their website now but they have one named Dark Truffle, which might be the same one with a new name, or very close.

• Like 1

I was thinking after you did the effects with spackle or joint compound or paperclay whichever works for you (if you go that route) maybe spray with a chocolate brown hi gloss spray paint.  But maybe experiment with a sample piece first. 

• Like 1

5 hours ago, havanaholly said:

What about spackle?  You can mix in your color, either paint or grated pastel.