Displaying finished pieces

Sweetnlow

Hello all :) As a beginner I have what may be a silly question. I wonder how everyone displays their finished pieces. Is it advisable to get a glass or plastic case to protect from dust, put in a display cabinet or do you just leave them out to admire? I live on a busy road and I have a parrot so my small home becomes fairly dusty quite quickly. I couldn't imagine trying to dust a miniature :p I don't want to hide it away after all my hard work. What is your preferred method of display? 

5 minutes ago, havanaholly said:

I play with mine, so whilst I have a few put about the house, most of them go into the garage (which my DH & I use for a play room) on tables.

Oh that sounds fun haha. 

At the house we live in now I don’t have any dollhouses in the main living areas, I just keep them in my workroom/craft room.  I do bring out and display my Christmas house during the holidays tho. 

Small paintbrushes work well for dusting minis :) 

• Like 1

I use large poster plastic to make dust covers that slide into a channel. This keeps the minis inside of the house dust free. My houses are made using real materials like stone and real slate tiles so I can use my vacuum hose and brush attachment on a low setting to vacuum them. Swifter dusters snag on wooden roofs and leave little bits embedded in the wood so stay away from those. 

• Like 1

I work in 1:24 scale which conveniently fits on a shelf. I have a curio cabinet that I display my finished work in, although they never really seem to be finished and I like to fuss with them and sometimes make changes. For 1:12 scale I’d create the clear plexi backs to minimize dust.

When I do have to dust, I use a microfiber cloth for “tin” roofs, makeup brushes for shingles, Cloth and brushes for cleaning furniture. I remove all furniture from the house and use canned air to carefully blow out any dust that the brush doesn’t reach but be careful using it around windows and landscaping.