Orchid house - when to paint, prime, stain etc.

I just purchased the Orchid house. I am new to dollhouse building. I was wondering should I paint the inside walls, wallpaper them and stain floors first before assembly? Or should I put it together first?  Also when I wallpaper, can I use regular craft paper with prints on them and use modpoge? Help!  

My first house was a restore/redecorate so I had no choice the first time, I had to do the walls and flooring with the rooms already built. But for the kits I've painted/wallpaper the walls and measured/layed flooring before I glued the house together. Crown molding and baseboards can always cover imperfections though if you're more comfortable building the house first, then decorating walls and floors.

For wallpaper, I've used real wallpaper and also high quality scrapbook paper.
Here's a tip I learned the hard way - when you apply the glue on the back of the paper, use a sponge and smear it out so it's covered 100% almost like you're painting it, instead of just using "lines" of glue. That way it sticks better over time, and doesn't cause any "warping" when the paper gets wet from the glue.

Fun, fun, fun!!!!!!! You'll be addicted in no time....

EDIT; Don't forget about the ceilings too :-)

Edited by Island-Shack
Forgot something..
  • Like 1

I build first but that’s because I like to wrap the paper around the corners so you don’t have corner gaps. I use s paint brush to paint on premixed wallpaper/border paste from HD or Lowe’s. Any craft paper will work. “Book it” (google a YouTube) first before applying the wet paper. Use an old credit card to smooth it out. Wipe excess paste with a damp paper towel.

• Like 1

Also, if you’ve never papered before try to avoid paper which require matching like plaids or fancy florals. Maybe put a solid in your dormers and a pattern on the walls. This will save you a few newbie headaches.

• Like 2