SusanL

Hello!  My name is Susan and I live in Tampa, FL.  I just received my very first dollhouse kit for my birthday.  I have wanted one since I was a child.   My kids are all grown up and out of the house and I have found a new hobby. 

I read the instructions for the first time tonight and I am feeling overwhelmed.  However, I will just take it one step at a time. 

• Like 1

Welcome Susan.

Which house did you get?

It is overwhelming at first, but reading and labeling the pieces helps to get a better grasp on what goes where. Some kits have you assemble the windows at the beginning. You can do this further along in the build. It makes it easier to paint them before assembled, and install after the interior wallpaper and paint is done.

One step at at time is the name of the game! You can do it!

• Like 1

Welcome to the little family, Susan.  Does it help that I still get that "OMG, what have I done?" whenever I open a new kit box (I've been doing this for over 25 years now.)?

14 minutes ago, Mid-life madness said:

...One step at at time is the name of the game! You can do it!

Carrie said it.

• Like 1

Hi Susan , 

Welcome

What house did you get? Stay calm and read everything again . It usually takes me more than a few times to understand the directions . I would say the best thing I learned is to dry fit the house it will really give you an idea of how the house goes together. Have fun and ask questions when you stuck.