Hello Newbie Here...

Lorieann

Hello Everyone,

My name is Lorieann and I figured I would sign up and introduce myself. I am a mom of 5 (took in 3 I have that much love to share). My kids are almost grown last two go off to college next year. I'm a gram of 5. All these kids and on the newest is a boy... wooph...

I just purchased the Greenleaf Beacon Hill. Super new to this but always a looker. I just never looked as far as... paints glues etc.

I would love it if you guess could send me your most prized suggestions as a newbie who isnt just a looker anymore.

I'd love to also see if there are any miniture groups local to me if possible. I cant find anything... but I know they are out there and I would LOVE to meet up. 19446

I am guessing paint, glue, sandpaper selection and newbie tips is what I need most/first.

Ordered it today and it will be here in TWO DAYS!!!

I'm so excited. ♡♡♡

Lorieann

#AllThingsLorieann

Welcome to the little family, Lorieann.  Is 19446 your zip code?  You can use the search feature to see if any "getting started" lists have been posted in the last year.  My personal basics are a Stanley box cutter/ utility knife with lots of new, sharp blades (a dull knife is likelier to slice you than a sharp one used with care), a new piece of sandpaper on my sanding block plus lots of el cheapo emery boards; I use these to tweak tabs and slots to fit more perfectly, which I do during the dry fit, where I put parts of the kit together to see how they fit and if I'm understanding the instructions.  I use blue painter's tape to hold the parts together during the dry fit.  I wind up dry fitting the shell of the house to see which areas I will need to prep before assembling with glue (I use a good carpenter's wood glue for this), or even to go ahead and decorate because I"ll never get my hand in there once it's glued together.  

• Like 1