Favorite Childrens Book 11/07/06

Minis On The Edge

Charlotte's Web by E.B. White remains one of my favorite books. My third grade teacher read it to us and it was the first chapter book I read myself. I just loved it. Harry Potter is my new favorite, but Charlotte's Web will always hold a special place with me. What better life lesson can you learn than from the friendship between Charlotte and Wilber.

I'm a substitute teacher (Elementary certified) and I'm surprised at how many upper elementary grades no longer have story time. We always had 15-20 minutes a day set aside for just listening to our teachers read novels to us when I was in school. With all the testing kids are going through there's just no time anymore to devote to storytime. Just time where kids can relax, aren't tested on it, and can listen for enjoyment. We need to bring that back.

I also love Anne of Green Gables. I first read it as an adult and just adore this series. The first two movies by Kevin Sullivan are fabulous and I watched them when I was little, but I've always wondered why they didn't tackle her University years. It would have made a great movie.

Dr. Zeuss "Are you my mother?"

It was the favorite of both my boys when they were little - must've read it to them a couple hundred times! We read that story so often that they were able to recite each page word for word long before they could actually read!

Together we read tons of books - their bedtime story time was a favorite part of our day - but of all the books that we read, that one is the one I always think of when I think about bedtime stories.

Charlotte's Web and Winnie the Pooh, for classics. And all of the Eloise books, and The Stinky Cheese Man. The latter comes to mind as it has been adapted for stage and I'm going to see the play in a couple of weeks. :wave: