The General Order of things....

Shareb

Whilst I've been doing minis for a few years now, I still find knowing which order to do things in perplexing.  To give an example....In my apothecary building, I did the floors first, then did the outside walls, then put it together and began the inside.  Now, obviously doing the floors first made sense at the time and created lovely tidy flooring, but when I came to do electrical I had to work around not being able to hide anything underneath the flooring.  That worked out okay though.  Now I've decided that instead of a regular old attic I'm going to create Raymond's 'secret room' up there instead.  I wasn't going to have any lights in the attic, but now I will - so I did think my wiring was complete - but now it's not.  Obviously I can't do it the way I did the first and second floors which was to run the wires down the walls behind the panelling and out the bottom.  So then I thought 'a-hah!'  I'll put on spouting/down pipes etc and hide the wiring coming out of the back wall in that, run it all the way down and solder it at the bottom like the rest.  I'd like to get this done before all the decorating - ie placing all those blooming miniature bottles!  That way I can turn it onto it's side without worrying about what's happening inside (even if I do glue the bottles to the shelves which I intend to do).  THEN I thought....hmmm....I need to ensure the outside is completely done BEFORE putting the spouting on, before finishing the electrical.  SO.....I had thought the outside was done, but of course when I built it, there are seams/gaps on the corners.  So I've decided to do quoins down each of the back corners.  I'll use thin card so that it won't be too thick compared to the rest of the walls.....but I may need to then re-do the walls anyway depending upon how it looks.  It almost seems like you're getting there but then you have to go back several paces, then forward, then back.....etc.  Am I the only one who has this