Hello Everyone, I’m so excited to be here

Lula

Oh my goodness, I so happy I found this forum. Super excited to get to know all these creative minds.  I have zero experience building dollhouses - well as an art student 100 years ago in HS, I did create a miniature Shakespearian Scene for my English teacher. That’s it!

My husband purchase this dollhouse for my at a Fleamarket. I’m planning on rehabbing it ;-) 

xxx-ooo

Edited by Lula
Forgot to upload pic

Hi there,

Thank you for replying.  I haven’t the slightest clue who the maker is.  I’ve done some research and I came up empty :-(

I found a similar house on eBay, it goes for $78k - are doll houses that expensive? 

I’ve been reading your threads to learn as much as I can, however I’m still confused.  I cleaned her up and stripped all the wall paper, floors etc.  now she sits there naked - poor thing.  I’m hoping (praying) some really nice person on this forum could guide me through this wonderful project.  

It sounds as though the house is already built.  I apologize, I thought when I read your first post that he'd bought you a kit.  I don't electrify the houses I build.  It's probably easiest to begin by hoarding a couple of newspapers (the free ones full of classified ads will work) and rolls of tape to use to make templates.  If you have furniture you might stage a few pieces to get a feel for how you want to assign the rooms.  I like to use iron-on wood veneer for wood floors.  I use shiny paper, heavy packing paper and paint chips to make floor tiles.  I first stain the bare floor the color I'll later stain my wood strips; I cut the veneer into 6" lengths and then carefully split them into strips 1/4" wide and iron them into place:

medium.56d51c2a1319f_parlor2.JPG.5a13a07

If I want linoleum for a kitchen floor I just use paint for that:

medium.56d51bc471fe1_2kitchen.JPG.860cb9

I prime my walls before painting or wallpapering them.

• Like 1