New to miniatures, starting with Greenleaf Travel Trailer, what do I need?

thatgirldownstairs

I've had a lot of interest lately in miniatures and decided to try the Greenleaf Travel Trailer as my first project so as not to start something too big and see how I like it overall.

Is there anything you would recommend to have on hand, I'm at a total loss on what tools I may need as I have no prior experience in this sort of thing. I've been looking at posts that I've found with this particular kit and I noticed there were a good many that said this one required a lot of sanding and that most primed the wood before putting it together? I love any new learning experience and would love any insight on what you recommend is good for someone to start with that has no idea what they are doing. :ermm:

I'm really excited to see how my first miniature turns out like, especially this kit! So many talented people here too, can't wait to keep seeing all the things everyone creates!

Hi Morgen, welcome to the forum. :) 

The basics are sandpaper, a utility knife, masking or painter's tape (for a dry fit and clamping) and wood glue (not hot glue). Paint (sample house paints or craft paints) and other finishing materials. 

My suggestion is to get an idea of what you want the finished project to look like and then go for it. Keep an open mind as you work, as the kit will have some suggestions of its own. Really. :D  Don't be afraid to experiment; any experiment that goes awry can be fixed. 

Ask questions. There's a wealth of experience here to draw from, as you have already noticed.

Take your time, do not rush. Above all, have fun.