I have a question about cacti.

heidiiiii

I have several cacti that I have bought over the years. Some of them are walmart finds. Those $1.98 baby cacti.

My question is this. When they start to grow off shoots, can you propagate them for other plants?

They have all become very big and I have to do some transplanting of them into bigger pots (some are starting to fall over they are so big). This one in particular is starting to grow babies (the one on the right). I have no real cactus knowledge and i dont want to kill it. My father was the green thumb and taught me all I know but he never had succulents and cacti so I branched out.

I know I can do a search on the internet, but i wanted to start here first because I know that I would get the right answer.

Thanks

yes, you can carefully cut off those "babies", put them in another pot, and they'll grow. Slice down into the soil as nearly vertical as you can alongside the "momma" and "baby", cutting through the roots. Remove the baby and put "her" in "her" own pot, then fill in the soil. Water as you usually do for the cactus, and eventually it'll start to grow again, once it's roots are established.

With some of these cactus you'll discover that there aren't "roots" -- the babies seem to bulge out from the momma plant. They'll transplant too -- carefully cut them off, place them in soil about 1/4 inch down, prop them up with toothpicks or wire, and water carefully. Eventually the roots will grow.

Not much different than transplanting other plants, but a bit prickly! I get a "cactus soil" mix from Steins Garden Center, but I've seen similar in other places where "dirt" is sold. And the larger one to the left -- the "babies" can be carefully divided away from it, too, and put in other pots.